Ocean Kinetics - The Engineering Experts

Election / Council election candidates announced – with two uncontested wards

Labour candidate Tom Morton set to be elected in Shetland North

An archive photo of ballot papers being counted. Photo: SIC

THE CANDIDATES for May’s Shetland Islands Council elections have been announced.

There are two uncontested wards – North Isles and Shetland North. The North Isles ward had three seats but only two candidates came forward.

A spokesperson for the council said a vacancy must be filled within three calendar months from polling day, so a by-election must be held for the North Isles on or before 4 August.

As it stands Duncan Anderson and Ryan Thomson will represent the North Isles, while Emma Macdonald, Andrea Manson and Tom Morton (Labour) will be councillors for Shetland North.

Morton said he was “absolutely thrilled and extremely surprised” to be elected to the council for the first time.

Macdonald said it was “disappointing for local democracy that folk don’t get a vote” – but added that she plans to still go out with leaflets and using the time to speak to the people.

Meanwhile Thomson said: “I’m vexed the constituents of the North Isles haven’t had the opportunity to exercise their democratic right to vote in this election, however I hope that will come with the by-election.

“Despite this, I am hugely honoured to be able to represent the North Isles for the next five years.

“If you have considered standing for the North Isles before, even if you haven’t, please give it some thought. It’s a hugely rewarding role, please don’t hesitate to contact me if you’d like to have a confidential discussion. I will still be out and about over the next five weeks as I think that is only right.”

It is the most party political election in a number of years, with the SNP, Greens and Labour all fielding candidates.

The elections will take place on 5 May.

The full list is as follows:

North Isles (three councillors, so uncontested)

  • Duncan Anderson
  • Ryan Thomson

Shetland North (three councillors, so uncontested)

  • Emma Macdonald
  • Andrea Manson
  • Tom Morton (Scottish Labour)

Shetland Central (four councillors)

  • Catherine Hughson
  • Moraig Lyall
  • Brian Nugent (Sovereignty)
  • Martin Randall (Scottish Greens)
  • Davie Sandison
  • Ian Scott

Shetland West (two councillors)

  • Liz Boxwell
  • Peter James Fraser
  • Andrew Holt
  • John Robert Leask
  • Debra Nicolson (Scottish Greens)
  • Zara Pennington (SNP)
  • Mark Robinson
  • Ian Tinkler

Lerwick North and Bressay (three councillors)

  • Stephen Ferguson
  • Stephen Leask
  • Gary Robinson
  • Arwed Wenger
  • Marie Williamson

Lerwick South (four councillors)

  • Peter Coleman
  • John Fraser
  • Amanda Hawick
  • Dennis Leask
  • Shayne McLeod
  • Neil Pearson
  • Cecil Smith

Shetland South (four councillors)

  • Alex Armitage (Scottish Greens)
  • Stewart Douglas
  • Allison Duncan
  • Robbie McGregor (SNP)
  • Bryan Peterson