Community / Big reshuffle at charitable trust

SCT headquarters on North Road, Lerwick. Photo: Shetland News

SHETLAND Charitable Trust has announced the appointment of four new trustees, a move that completes a major reshuffle of its board.

They are:

  • Ryan Leith, who works as port controller at Lerwick Port Authority;
  • Alan Ockendon, who worked in finance and administration in the salmon and mussel industries;
  • Ken Harrison, who recently moved to Yell from Cheshire after a career in senior management in local government;
  • Robert Leask, who has worked in senior management teams in the private and public sectors, including the Scottish Government.

In addition, two new trustees, Emma Miller and Robbie Leask, who were recruited last summer, have now taken up their positions.

These appointments follow the unopposed election of Dr Andrew Cooper as the trust’s new chairman and Margaret Roberts as vice-chair.

The posts had become vacant after the retirement of Bobby Hunter who had served two four-year terms on the trust.

Also standing down at the end May after serving eight years as an appointed trustee was James Smith, the charitable trust’s only director on SCT Renewables Limited, the company that holds the trust’s stake in the Viking Energy project.


TrusteesPeter Malcolmson, Keith Massey and Tom Macintyre have meanwhile decided not to seek re-appointment after their initial four years on the trust.

Dr Cooper said: “A warm welcome to our new trustees. I look forward to working with them on the core aims of the trust, to enhance the lives of people in Shetland.”

Thecharitable trust now comprises of 12 trustees, a board size agreed in June last year. They are: Andrew Cooper (chairman), Margaret Robert (vice-chair), Jolene Garriock, Ken Harrison, Yvette Hopkins, Robert Leask, Robbie Leask, Ryan Leith, Emma Miller, Ian Napier, Alan Ockendon and Drew Ratter.

Become a supporter of Shetland News

Shetland News is asking its many readers to consider start paying for their dose of the latest local news delivered straight to their PC, tablet or mobile phone.

Journalism comes at a price and because that price is not being paid in today’s rapidly changing media world, most publishers - national and local - struggle financially despite very healthy audience figures.

Most online publishers have started charging for access to their websites, others have chosen a different route. Shetland News currently has  over 600 supporters  who are all making small voluntary financial contributions. All funds go towards covering our cost and improving the service further.

Your contribution will ensure Shetland News can: -

  • Bring you the headlines as they happen;
  • Stay editorially independent;
  • Give a voice to the community;
  • Grow site traffic further;
  • Research and publish more in-depth news, including more Shetland Lives features.

If you appreciate what we do and feel strongly about impartial local journalism, then please become a supporter of Shetland News by either making a single payment or monthly subscription.

Support us from as little as £3 per month – it only takes a minute to sign up. Thank you.



Subscribe to a selection of different newsletters from Shetland News, varying from breaking news delivered on the minute, to a weekly round-up of the opinion posts. All delivered straight to your inbox.

Daily Briefing Newsletter Weekly Highlights Newsletter Opinion Newsletter Life in Shetland Newsletter

JavaScript Required

We're sorry, but Shetland News isn't fully functional without JavaScript enabled.
Head over to the help page for instructions on how to enable JavaScript on your browser.

Your Privacy

We use cookies on our site to improve your experience.
By using our service, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.

Browser is out-of-date

Shetland News isn't fully functional with this version of .
Head over to the help page for instructions on updating your browser for more security, improved speed and the best overall experience on this site.

Interested in Notifications?

Get notifications from Shetland News for important and breaking news.
You can unsubscribe at any time.

Become a supporter of Shetland News

We're committed to ensuring everyone has equitable access to impartial, open and quality local journalism that benefits all residents.

By supporting Shetland News, you play a vital role in ensuring we remain a pivotal resource in supporting the community.

Support us from as little as £3 per month – it only takes a minute to sign up. Thank you.