Ocean Kinetics - The Engineering Experts

Amenity trust elects four new trustees

Shetland Amenity Trust's main office in Lerwick.
Shetland Amenity Trust's main office at Garthspool in Lerwick.

FOUR people have been elected as new Shetland Amenity Trust trustees.

Marek Barecki, Winston Brown, Neville Martin and Jonathan Williamson were all elected at a meeting of trustees on Friday.

Ruth Mackenzie and Alastair Hamilton were also re-elected.

Mackenzie was also reappointed as chair, while Hamilton was reappointed as vice-chair.

Trustees, meanwhile, agreed to have a bench made and installed in memory of Tommy Watt, who was the first curator of the new Shetland Museum and Archives.

Next year will be the tenth anniversary of his death and his family had asked the trust if would consider installing a wooden bench outside the museum.

Trustee Frank Robertson said Watt was an “exceptional individual” who was “absolutely passionate” about his role.