Ocean Kinetics - The Engineering Experts

Council / Smith returns to depute convener role

New appointments were also made to Shetland Islands Council’s committees

Cecil Smith.
Cecil Smith.

CECIL Smith has been appointed as the new depute convener of Shetland Islands Council following the resignation of Beatrice Wishart.

The position, which the Lerwick South councillor held between 2014 and 2017, became vacant after Wishart was elected as Shetland’s new MSP.

Smith quipped after being appointed at a meeting of the full council on Wednesday that he hoped he will not be thrown into the deep end again and have his first meeting as depute convener with the prime minister, as it was last time around.

There has also been a reshuffle of councillors on some of Shetland Islands Council’s committees following the two recent by-elections and some resignations.

New Shetland Central member Moraig Lyall was appointed to the development, planning and audit committees, as well as the college board and the community safety and resilience board.

She was also put forward as a substitute member of the college lecturers joint consultative committee/joint negotiating committee.

Stephen Flaws, who was elected in Lerwick South, was appointed to the development and licensing committees, the town hall sub-committee and the community safety and resilience board.

Both new councillors were appointed to the full council, and the community councils which feature in their wards.

Davie Sandison was appointed to the harbour board, while Amanda Hawick was given a seat on the education and families committee.

The latter was also given a role on the Shetland Area Support Team after winning a ballot against John Fraser by ten votes to nine.

George Smith was placed on the Orkney and Shetland valuation joint board as a substantive member, while Robbie McGregor was appointed as a substitute.

Emma Macdonald was also appointed to the board of the Shetland Oil Terminal Environmental Advisory Group (SOTEAG), with Cecil Smith put forward as a substitute.

Tegan Patterson, meanwhile, was appointed as the student representative on the college board.

Before the appointments were made chairman Malcolm Bell delivered words of tribute to former council stalwarts Gussie Angus and John Nicolson, who both passed away recently.