Ocean Kinetics - Online Shop
Shetland Tourism Association - Supporting Tourism Sector Businesses

Seven up for youth parliament election

Clockwise to left to right: Dannii Coleman, Charlie Haddon, Kyna Malcolmson, Lewis Johnson.

A TOTAL of seven candidates in Shetland will stand for election for the Scottish Youth Parliament next year.

People aged between 12 and 26 will vote in March to decide which two candidates will represent the isles over the next couple of years.

Shetland Islands Council convener Malcolm Bell said he was “really pleased” to see so many people stand for election.

The two successful candidates will replace Kaylee Mouat and Kelvin Anderson, who will step down from their roles.

Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs) attend three sittings of the parliament in Edinburgh each year, in addition to recognising the issues important to young people in their home region.

Clockwise from left to right: Carys Nield, Sonny Thomason, Caitlin Ward.

Bell added: “In recent years, our local MSYPs have spoken up on many issues that affect young people and they have represented Shetland admirably at the Scottish Youth Parliament.

“They have also worked collaboratively with Shetland’s other representatives, achieving real results in the process. I wish all the candidates well in their election campaigning in the coming months.”

The seven candidates hoping to represent Shetland at the Scottish Youth Parliament are as follows:

• Dannii Coleman, Baltasound
• Charlie Haddon, Weisdale
• Lewis Johnson, Sullom
• Kyna Malcolmson, Cunningsburgh
• Carys Nield, Sandwick
• Sonny Thomason, Lerwick
• Caitlin Ward, Lerwick