Monday 24 June 2024
 11°C   S Moderate Breeze
Ocean Kinetics - The Engineering Experts

Community / No contested elections for community council seats

The full list of community councillors set to be elected unopposed can be found below

Photo: SIC

NEARLY half of Shetland’s 18 community councils will start the next term with a full complement of members – but a total of 38 vacancies remain across the isles.

Bressay, Fetlar, Nesting and Lunnasting, Sandness and Walls, Sandsting and Aithing, Sandwick, Skerries and Unst will all have full tables.

It comes after a call for nominations for community councils across Shetland, with the deadline for vacancies being extended by a few days following last week’s communications disruption.

However, there will be no contested elections due to the number of nominations received.

Delting has six vacancies remaining, for instance, while in Scalloway only four out of nine seats have been filled.

Anyone interested in being ‘co-opted’ to the remaining vacancies should lodge an interest with the clerk of the relevant community council.

The following will be elected as community councillors for a two-year term on 24 November:

Bressay (eight out of eight seats filled):

  • Richard Burrell
  • Alistair Christie-Henry
  • Kathryn Duffus
  • Shirley Gifford
  • Dee Henderson-Haefner
  • Margaret MacDonald
  • Amanda Sinclair
  • Lindsay William Tulloch

Burra and Trondra (six out of eight seats filled):

  • Brian Evan Adamson
  • Robin Wynford Black
  • Mark Fullerton
  • Narene Fullerton
  • Melanie Mhairi Garnier
  • Niall O’Rourke

Delting (six out of 12 seats filled):

  • Alastair Cooper
  • Julie Margaret Dennison
  • Andrew David Hall
  • James Milne
  • William Hugh Moreland
  • Errol Alexander Smith

Dunrossness (eight out of 12 seats filled):

  • Aileen Elizabeth Brown
  • Irvine George Burgess
  • Fiona Campbell Mitchell
  • Helen Christine Moncrieff
  • Dawna Louise Phillips
  • Allen James Sinclair
  • Agnes Isabella Tallack
  • Vicky Tylsar

Fetlar (six out of six seats filled):

  • Lucy Clare Cummings
  • Michael Derek Fogarty
  • Julie Maguire
  • James Robert Rendall
  • James Smythe
  • David Mark Sumner

Gulberwick, Quarff and Cunningsburgh (six out of 10 seats filled):

  • Patricia Mary Christie
  • Colin Cruikshank Clark
  • Peter Eric Coleman
  • Maureen Rosemary David
  • Ewen Robert Andrew Macpherson
  • George Murray

Become a supporter of Shetland News


Lerwick (11 out of 16 seats filled):

  • Jim Anderson
  • Andrew James Carter
  • Karen Anne Fraser
  • Brian Harris
  • Stewart Leask Hay
  • Shayne Charles McLeod
  • Scott Graham Nicolson
  • Damien Ristori
  • Averil Simpson
  • Arwed Wenger
  • Jonathan Williamson

Nesting and Lunnasting (eight out of eight seats filled):

  • Shaun Johnson
  • Alexander Christopher Laurenson
  • Christine Leask
  • Terri Laura Leask
  • Iain Malcolmson
  • Grant John Nicol
  • William Laurence Simpson
  • Douglas George Stevenson

Northmavine (seven out of nine seats filled):

  • Grant George Robert Anderson
  • David Christopher Brown
  • Roselle Christine Doull
  • Erik John Robertson
  • Robert Derek Robertson
  • Kevin John Scollay
  • Brenda Wilcock

Sandness and Walls (ten out ten seats filled):

  • Margaret Ann Forrest
  • James Ross Gear
  • John Hanford Haswell
  • Ewen Thomas Johnston
  • Jonathan Richard Laing
  • Finlay John Macbeath
  • Mary Elizabeth Macgregor
  • Jane Puckey
  • Colin Venus
  • Ian Walterson

Sandsting and Aithsting (eight out of eight seats filled):

  • John Andrew Abernethy
  • Sharon Deyell
  • Joanne Fraser
  • James David Garrick
  • Osla Jamwal-Fraser
  • Lynn Robina Johnson
  • Debra Jane Nicolson
  • John Priest

Sandwick (eight out of eight seats filled):

  • Janet Dunnet
  • Graeme Fraser Garrick
  • Michael (JJ) Jamieson
  • Yvonne Mary Malcolmson
  • Bryan Peterson
  • Kevin Kay Sandison
  • James Laurence Barclay Smith
  • Andrew L Stout

Scalloway (four out of nine seats filled):

  • Andrew Blackadder
  • Mark Robert Burgess
  • Lindsay Laurenson
  • Kenneth Alan Pottinger

Skerries (five out of five seats filled):

  • Douglas Peter Laurence Anderson
  • Frances Anderson
  • Robertha Jean Anderson
  • Williamina Margaret Anderson
  • Janice Margaret Veronica Hughson

Tingwall, Whiteness and Weisdale (seven out of nine seats filled):

  • Andrew Richard Archer
  • John Peter Clarkson
  • Charles George Hodge
  • Neil Angus Leask
  • Martin Trevor Randall
  • Linda Tulloch
  • Birgit Wagner

Unst (nine out of nine seats filled):

  • Stephen Gary Betney
  • David Cooper
  • Andrew Patrick Fordyce
  • Caroline Hunter
  • John Hunter Peterson
  • Claire Lynn Priest
  • Janice Heather Priest
  • Hazel Margaret Spence
  • Julie Margaret Thomson

Whalsay (four out of seven seats filled):

  • Margaret Maureen Hughson
  • Gilbert Irvine
  • Jacqueline Katrina Leslie
  • William Polson

Yell (four out of nine seats filled):

  • Annette Love Jamieson
  • Robert Henry Jamieson
  • Julia Lyth
  • Laurence William Odie

Become a supporter of Shetland News

Shetland News is asking its many readers to consider start paying for their dose of the latest local news delivered straight to their PC, tablet or mobile phone.

Journalism comes at a price and because that price is not being paid in today’s rapidly changing media world, most publishers - national and local - struggle financially despite very healthy audience figures.

Most online publishers have started charging for access to their websites, others have chosen a different route. Shetland News currently has  over 600 supporters  who are all making small voluntary financial contributions. All funds go towards covering our cost and improving the service further.

Your contribution will ensure Shetland News can: -

  • Bring you the headlines as they happen;
  • Stay editorially independent;
  • Give a voice to the community;
  • Grow site traffic further;
  • Research and publish more in-depth news, including more Shetland Lives features.

If you appreciate what we do and feel strongly about impartial local journalism, then please become a supporter of Shetland News by either making a single payment or monthly subscription.

Support us from as little as £3 per month – it only takes a minute to sign up. Thank you.



Subscribe to a selection of different newsletters from Shetland News, varying from breaking news delivered on the minute, to a weekly round-up of the opinion posts. All delivered straight to your inbox.

Daily Briefing Newsletter Weekly Highlights Newsletter Opinion Newsletter Life in Shetland Newsletter

JavaScript Required

We're sorry, but Shetland News isn't fully functional without JavaScript enabled.
Head over to the help page for instructions on how to enable JavaScript on your browser.

Your Privacy

We use cookies on our site to improve your experience.
By using our service, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.

Browser is out-of-date

Shetland News isn't fully functional with this version of .
Head over to the help page for instructions on updating your browser for more security, improved speed and the best overall experience on this site.

Interested in Notifications?

Get notifications from Shetland News for important and breaking news.
You can unsubscribe at any time.

Become a supporter of Shetland News

We're committed to ensuring everyone has equitable access to impartial, open and quality local journalism that benefits all residents.

By supporting Shetland News, you play a vital role in ensuring we remain a pivotal resource in supporting the community.

Support us from as little as £3 per month – it only takes a minute to sign up. Thank you.