News / Six to vie for vacant Scottish Youth Parliament seat

The election candidates, clockwise from top left: Leighton Anderson, Alexander Bendix, Jonathan Dorrat, Dylan Morrish, Shane Painter and Jamie Sutherland. Photo: SIC

SIX young folk have put themselves forward to stand in the local by-election for a seat at the Scottish Youth Parliament.

The seat became vacant recently after Charlie Haddon stepped down from his role to concentrate on his studies.

The six youngsters, all male, who will stand for election are:

  • Leighton Anderson, 15 from Dunrossness
  • Alexander Bendix, 20 from Vidlin
  • Jonathan Dorrat, 14 from Lerwick
  • Dylan Morrish, 17 from Lerwick
  • Shane Painter, 15 from Fetlar
  • Jamie Sutherland, 14 from Lerwick

People in Shetland aged between 12 and 25 can vote. To do so, they need to use their Young Scot card to vote online here.

Voting will take place from 7am on 4 June until 2pm on 8 June.

The winning candidate will work alongside fellow MSYP Sonny Thomason until June 2019.

Shetland Islands Council convener Malcolm Bell said: “In recent years, our MSYPs have worked hard to raise awareness of issues that have relevance here in Shetland.

“I’m pleased to see six young people standing in this by-election and I’d encourage all those who are eligible to vote to make sure they cast their vote for their preferred candidate.”

Become a supporter of Shetland News

Shetland News is asking its many readers to consider start paying for their dose of the latest local news delivered straight to their PC, tablet or mobile phone.

Journalism comes at a price and because that price is not being paid in today’s rapidly changing media world, most publishers - national and local - struggle financially despite very healthy audience figures.

Most online publishers have started charging for access to their websites, others have chosen a different route. Shetland News currently has  over 600 supporters  who are all making small voluntary financial contributions. All funds go towards covering our cost and improving the service further.

Your contribution will ensure Shetland News can: -

  • Bring you the headlines as they happen;
  • Stay editorially independent;
  • Give a voice to the community;
  • Grow site traffic further;
  • Research and publish more in-depth news, including more Shetland Lives features.

If you appreciate what we do and feel strongly about impartial local journalism, then please become a supporter of Shetland News by either making a single payment or monthly subscription.

Support us from as little as £3 per month – it only takes a minute to sign up. Thank you.



Subscribe to a selection of different newsletters from Shetland News, varying from breaking news delivered on the minute, to a weekly round-up of the opinion posts. All delivered straight to your inbox.

Daily Briefing Newsletter Weekly Highlights Newsletter Opinion Newsletter Life in Shetland Newsletter

JavaScript Required

We're sorry, but Shetland News isn't fully functional without JavaScript enabled.
Head over to the help page for instructions on how to enable JavaScript on your browser.

Your Privacy

We use cookies on our site to improve your experience.
By using our service, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.

Browser is out-of-date

Shetland News isn't fully functional with this version of .
Head over to the help page for instructions on updating your browser for more security, improved speed and the best overall experience on this site.

Interested in Notifications?

Get notifications from Shetland News for important and breaking news.
You can unsubscribe at any time.

Become a supporter of Shetland News

We're committed to ensuring everyone has equitable access to impartial, open and quality local journalism that benefits all residents.

By supporting Shetland News, you play a vital role in ensuring we remain a pivotal resource in supporting the community.

Support us from as little as £3 per month – it only takes a minute to sign up. Thank you.