Council / Former leader Robinson among council by-election candidates

Gary Robinson
Gary Robinson.

FORMER council leader and current NHS Shetland chairman Gary Robinson is among the names who will stand in the upcoming Shetland Islands Council by-elections.

The by-elections will take place in Lerwick South and Shetland Central on 7 November following the resignation of Beatrice Wishart and Mark Burgess.

Due to compete in the Lerwick South ward is former councillor and political leader Robinson, who failed to win re-election in the westside in 2017.


He will be joined by Frances Valente, who narrowly missed out in the ward in 2017, as well as Stephen Flaws, Caroline Henderson and Arwed Wenger.

All are listed as independent candidates, with Flaws having no description.

In Shetland Central, Stewart Douglas from Cunningsburgh will stand for the SNP.

Also competing in that by-election will be recent Scottish Parliament candidate Johan Adamson, who is not representing a party, while Julie Buchan, Gordon Laverie and Moraig Lyall are also in the running.

Buchan and Laverie are listed as independents, while Lyall has no description.

Polling will take place between the hours of 7am and 10pm on Thursday 7 November, with 16 and 17 year olds able to vote.

Wishart resigned as a councillor for Lerwick South after being elected as Shetland’s new MSP, while Burgess stood down in the central ward for personal reasons.