Ocean Kinetics - The Engineering Experts

Environmental awards

Iain Gulland (centre) with the winners of this year's Shetland Environmental Awards at the Shetland Museum and Archives on Wednesday - Photo: Austin Taylor

TWELVE local community projects have been acknowledged at this year’s Shetland Environmental Awards during a ceremony held in the Shetland Museum and Archives on Wednesday.

The awards were presented by Iain Gulland, the director of Zero Waste Scotland.

Brian Gregson, chairman of Shetland Amenity Trust and also the Shetland Environment Group, the organisation that judges the entries, said the awards always attracted nominations from a wide variety of local projects.

“The twelve winning projects range from small initiatives achieved on a shoestring to a project which has raised millions of pounds,” he said.

They are: –

  • Aith Junior High School – ‘Making Aith Better for Us and Others’;
  • Bressay Primary School for researching the wrecks around the island’s coast;
  • Brucehall Extra Care Community Garden, which opened on 21 June;
  • Burravoe Pier Trust, for improving its caravan park, marina and camp site;
  • Foula Primary School and Community for creating a shared polycrub (polytunnel);
  • Frankie’s Fish & Chips, for selling 98 per cent Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) accredited species;
  • Sarah Jane Grace Kay of Highlands Garden who transformed an acre of land on a steep slope in East Voe, Scalloway, into a unique garden;
  • Nesting Primary School, reusing plastic bottle tops both creative and educational ways;
  • Ollaberry Primary School for a project that looks into the effects of marine litter, especially on leatherback turtles;
  • Shetland Tannery Ltd for producing high quality sheepskins, cowhides, goatskins and cow horns;
  • Sound Primary School, for creating a school garden including a polytunnel and outside growing space;
  • and the multi million pound restoration of the Sumburgh Head Lighthouse, and the development of the associated visitor centre & nature reserve.

This year’s awards were again sponsored by SEPA, SNH, the RSPB, Shetland Civic Society, VisitShetland and Shetland Amenity Trust.