News Feed / Nominations close

The six candidates in alphabetical order.

THERE were no late surprises when nominations for June’s general election closed at 4pm on Thursday.

As expected, the Orkney and Shetland seat will be contested by six candidates.

They are:

  • Robina Rendall Barton – Scottish Labour Party
  • Miriam Brett – Scottish National Party
  • Alistair Carmichael – Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Jamie Halcro Johnston – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Stuart Hill – Independent
  • Robert Smith – UK Independence Party

Polling day is on Thursday 8 June. The count will get underway at the Kirkwall Grammar School after polling stations close at 10pm.

Votes cast in Shetland will be flown to Kirkwall for counting. A result for the Northern Isles constituency is expected at around 6am the following morning.

Shetland News will be reporting live from the count in Orkney.