Ocean Kinetics - The Engineering Experts

Community / Amenity trust makes new appointments

Frank Robertson also steps down as trustee after over 20 years in role

Shetland Amenity Trust's main office in Lerwick.
Shetland Amenity Trust's main office at Garthspool in Lerwick.

FOUR new trustees were appointed to the board of Shetland Amenity Trust at the charity’s AGM on Monday.

They are Colin Clark, Ronnie Eunson, James Paton and Robert Smith.

Frank Robertson is stepping down after a lengthy stint at the trust.

Alastair Hamilton was formally appointed as chair after stepping into the role on a temporary basis. Alison Moncrieff and Linda Riddell were also appointed as vice chairs.

Long standing trustee, and former councillor, Frank Robertson also stepped down after 21 years of service on the board.

He has been involved in a range of trust initiatives and projects over the years, most significantly playing a key role in leading the design and construction of the award-winning Shetland Museum and Archives.

“I have enjoyed my time with Shetland Amenity Trust immensely,” he said on Monday.

“The variety of the work and camaraderie has been wonderful.  There have been many challenges and the trust still has some mountains to climb.

“I am hugely encouraged, however, by the quality of applications we received for new trustees and feel very positive about the quality of governance and leadership the trust now has.  I wish the trust all the very best for the future.”

Hamilton added: “Frank has given a huge amount to the trust and to Shetland over the years. His knowledge, expertise and good humour have been a real asset and he will be very much missed.

“I am delighted with the quality of applications we had to join the board this year.  After a closely run vote we have now appointed four extremely capable new trustees who bring with them a diverse range of knowledge and experience.”