Ocean Kinetics - Online Shop
Shetland Tourism Association - Supporting Tourism Sector Businesses

SIC issues election notice

SHETLAND Islands Council has issued a formal notice of election ahead of the forthcoming local government elections on Thursday 4 May.

Anyone who wants to stand for election to the local authority has until 4pm on Wednesday 29 March to return their nomination forms.

Forms can be obtained from the election office at the SIC’s Burgh Road offices or online at www.shetland.gov.uk/elections.

The office is open for the issue and receipt of nomination papers on weekdays from Tuesday (14 March) between 10am and 4pm.

Twenty two councillors will be elected to serve seven wards in Shetland: North Isles, Shetland North, Shetland West, Shetland Central, Shetland South, Lerwick North and Lerwick South.

The latter constituency will elect four councillors, while all of the other six wards will elect three.

Several individuals have already publicly declared their candidacies, including Duncan Simpson and Ryan Thomson (both North Isles), Debra Nicolson and Ian Tinkler (both Shetland West), Frankie Valente (Lerwick South), John Fraser (Lerwick North), Ian Scott and Julie Buchan (both Shetland Central).

Among the existing 22 councillors, many are yet to declare their position but SIC leader Gary Robinson (Shetland West) and convener Malcolm Bell (Lerwick North) are both standing.