SIC - Coronavirus business support fund - apply online
Ocean KineticsOcean KineticsOcean KineticsOcean KineticsOcean Kinetics

By election on Thursday

POLLING stations at the Tingwall, Scalloway and Burra halls will be open between 7am and 10 pm for Thursday’s by-election in the Shetland Central ward.

The by election was called following the resignation of councillor Iris Hawkins who has served the community for the last 17 years.

Six candidates are contesting the by-election. They are, in alphabetical order: Stephen Morgan, Clive Richardson, David Sandison, Ian Scott, Scotty Van der Tol and Robert Williamson.

Counting will take place the following morning in the Lerwick town hall starting at 9.30am. A result is expected by 11.30am.

Details of the count will be updated on the SIC website at

Returning officer Jan Riise said: “Traditionally, Shetland has a record of good turnout figures for elections.  Although turnouts of 50 to 60 per cent are regularly recorded, some wards in Shetland have registered turnouts in excess of 70 per cent in the past. 

“It would be good to maintain this level of public involvement in local politics when choosing a new councillor for the Central ward.

“I would encourage all voters, with particular emphasis on young first-time voters to use their vote on this occasion.”