SIC Service Review Proposals

| Written by Shetland News

Review of ferries, winter road maintenance and street lighting

The Council is reviewing all its services to save money so that it can provide the best possible service within its current budget.

Details of proposals to review the inter-island ferries, winter road maintenance and street lighting can be found by clicking on the links on the right.

It is vital the Council understands the impact any changes will have on individuals, communities and businesses so that Councillors can make well-informed decisions.

The Council would like to encourage people to comment on the proposals at the email address or phone number below, both of which can also be used to find out more information.

Email: infrastructure.review@shetland.gov.uk

Phone: 01595 744800

There will also be a series of public drop-in sessions throughout the islands where people can find out more about the plans and discuss them with Council officers. These are at:

Symbister Hall - Thursday 14 June, 4pm to 8.30pm
Mid Yell Hall - Friday 15 June, 4pm to 8pm

Baltasound Hall - Monday 18 June, 3pm to 8pm
Bressay Hall - Tuesday 19 June, 4pm to 7pm
Walls Hall - Thursday 21 June, 2pm to 7pm
Fetlar Hall - Friday 22 June, 4.15pm to 7.15pm
Lerwick Town Hall - Saturday 23 June, 2.30pm to 5pm

Cunningsburgh Hall - Tuesday 26 June, 2pm to 7pm
Brae Hall - Wednesday 27 June, 2pm to 7pm
Scalloway Hall - Thursday 28 June, 2pm to 7pm
Tingwall Hall - Saturday 30 June, 2pm to 5pm

Papa Stour - Wednesday 4 July, 10.30am to 12.30pm

Specific dates for Skerries and Fair Isle are to be arranged.