Election News Feed

Tories put forward paper candidates

THE CHAIRMAN of the local Conservative branch has denied that a Tory candidate in the Shetland Islands Council election who doesn't want people to vote for him was put forward for selection without his full knowledge.

Thomas Williamson, who is one of four candidates standing in the Lerwick North ward, told Shetland News in late March that he had been "brainwashed" by the party into standing.

He was quoted by local media this week as saying he doesn't want anyone to vote for him because he was signed up to stand without his full knowledge.

Voting reminder

SHETLANDERS are being reminded to make sure they are registered to vote for the upcoming local council elections.

Names of 32 SIC election candidates unveiled

THIRTY two candidates have put themselves forward for the 22 seats on Shetland Islands Council for this May’s election – with all three standing in the South Mainland ward guaranteed victory as there are no other candidates.

North Isles - 3 councillors

Lynsay CunninghamLynsay CunninghamIndependent
Cecil HughsonCecil HughsonIndependent
Alec PriestAlec Priest 
Duncan SimpsonDuncan SimpsonIndependent
Ryan ThomsonRyan ThomsonIndependent

Shetland North - 3 councillors

Alastair CooperAlastair CooperIndependent
Isobel JohnsonIsobel JohnsonConservatives
Emma MacdonaldEmma MacdonaldIndependent
Andrea MansonAndrea Manson 

Shetland West - 3 councillors

Steven CouttsSteven CouttsIndependent
Catherine HughsonCatherine HughsonIndependent
Debra NicolsonDebra NicolsonIndependent
Gary RobinsonGary Robinson 
Theo SmithTheo SmithIndependent
Ian TinklerIan Tinkler 

Shetland Central - 3 councillors

Julie BuchanJulie BuchanIndependent
Mark BurgessMark Burgess 
Brian NugentBrian Nugent 
Davie SandisonDavie SandisonIndependent
Ian ScottIan Scott 

Lerwick North - 3 councillors

Malcolm BellMalcolm Bell 
John FraserJohn FraserIndependent
Stephen LeaskStephen LeaskIndependent
Thomas WilliamsonThomas WilliamsonConservatives

Lerwick South - 4 councillors

Peter CampbellPeter CampbellIndependent
Cecil SmithCecil SmithIndependent
Frances ValenteFrances ValenteIndependent
Amanda WestlakeAmanda WestlakeIndependent
Beatrice WishartBeatrice WishartIndependent

Shetland South - Uncontested Election

Allison DuncanAllison DuncanIndependent
Robbie McGregorRobbie McGregorSNP
George SmithGeorge SmithIndependent

Paid Adverts